Don McCabe Voted OFA President

Don McCabe Voted OFA President

on December 2 | in Tek Talk | by | with No Comments

From a release

Guelph – Lambton county farmer and long-time board member Don McCabe was elected Ontario Federation of Agriculture (OFA) president for a one-year term at the 2014 annual general meeting this week. McCabe was elected by more than 250 voting OFA delegates, who gathered with industry and government at the OFA’s 79th annual meeting and convention in Niagara Falls November 24 and 25, 2014.

The growth of Ontario’s agriculture and food industry was the focus of this year’s meeting, with a significant portion of the agenda dedicated to leadership elections and discussions on grassroots resolutions. McCabe, a corn, soybean and wheat farmer from Inwood, ON was voted president over incumbent Mark Wales. Wales, an Elgin County farmer, served as OFA president for three years and will remain on the OFA board of directors as the elected representative from Zone 4.

Simcoe County crop farmer Keith Currie was re-elected OFA vice president, and northern Ontario dairy farmer Peggy Brekveld was also elected as an OFA vice president. Peggy was also voted director-at-large for a three-year term. Sheep farmer and Bruce County Federation of Agriculture president Pat Jileson joins the OFA board as director-at-large for a two-year term. Mark Reusser, Waterloo County turkey farmer, was later elected by the board as its fourth executive member. New to the OFA board, Mark Kunkel will be representing northern Ontario as Zone 15 director. The OFA’s Board of Directors is made up of 18 positions representing regions across Ontario.

As part of the convention, OFA delegates raised $8,024 in a silent auction fundraiser, with proceeds donated to Agri-Skills Abroad. Scotiabank, an OFA benefit partner and sponsor, donated an additional $5,000 to make a total contribution of $13,024 to the international effort focusing on important projects in Haiti.

Pin It

Comments are closed.

« »

Did you know?

Chatham-Kent Is The NUMBER TWO Producer Of Asparagus In All Of Ontario.

Scroll to top