CFFO Elects New Leadership

CFFO Elects New Leadership

on December 20 | in Ag News | by | with No Comments

Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario Commentary By Franchesca Weeks, CFFO Communications Manager

On Dec. 1, 2015 the Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario (CFFO) held their Annual General Meeting at St. George Banquet Hall in Waterloo where elections for President, Vice-Presidents and Directors took place.

The CFFO saw a change in leadership as Clarence Nywening was elected as the new CFFO President. Nywening is a broiler-breeder operator and cash cropper from the Thamesville area.

In his acceptance speech Nywening thanked his predecessor saying, “I have a big job ahead of me and big shoes to fill. Lorne has been a very good representative for us in the political realms and he knows a lot of political leaders and we thank him for that. We thank you for your four years of leadership.” Looking ahead, Nywening continued, “I hope and pray that I can be as good of a leader for you and that with God’s help I can bring Him glory in the work that was put before us.” Nywening has previously served as Director and as Vice-President on the Executive Board.

Joining him on the leadership team are John Kikkert from Niagara and Richard Blyleven from Haldimand-Norfolk as Vice-Presidents for the CFFO. Richard Blyleven operates an egg and crop farm with his wife Janet in Cayuga. He has been on the Executive Board for four years and is also the chairman of the Haldimand Agriculture Advisory Committee. “I will keep the CFFO strong and never ever forget who number one is and what the CFFO started for, that we are the stewards of our farms and businesses and to never forget our focus,” said Blyleven.

The CFFO welcomes John Kikkert back onto the Executive Board as he previously served seven years as President for the CFFO. John and his wife Sue are chicken and turkey producers from Smithville, Ontario. “It’s rewarding to lead the Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario in doing their work,” said Kikkert.

Ed Scarringa from Wentworth-Brant, Bethanee Jensen from Huron and Henry Stevens from Wellington were elected as Directors, joining Simon de Boer from Grey-Bruce and Peter Peeters from Peterborough who are currently still serving their two-year term as Directors.

Pin It

Comments are closed.

« »

Did you know?

Chatham-Kent Is The NUMBER ONE Producer Of Seed Corn In All Of Canada.

Scroll to top