Kent Ag Hall Of Fame Announces 2017 Nominees

Kent Ag Hall Of Fame Announces 2017 Nominees

on July 9 | in Ag News | by | with No Comments

Five men and two women, who have provided a positive influence on agriculture in the Chatham-Kent community and beyond, will be inducted into the Kent Agricultural Hall of Fame on Tuesday, November 14th, 2017 at Country View Golf Course.

The nominees are:

Brenda Jane and Dave Alexander Baute of Tilbury East Township are founders of Maizex and have contributed greatly to the local agricultural community.

The late Jack Beardall, began the first privately owned Radio Station in Ontario, known as CFCO, which became vital for weather information for the farming community, and later for in-depth farming information, both then and now.

In the 1880’s, the late Harry Forbes of Tilbury East Township, and his supporters pushed successfully for a drainage system in Raleigh and Tilbury East Townships, against much opposition from the local council. The resultant Forbes Drainage Scheme reclaimed 5,000 acres of prime agricultural land and led to two other drainage schemes in Kent County.

John Jordan of Raleigh Township is a local farmer, well known through his broadcasting of Farm Market News and Agri-Link News and Farm Events Calendar, which has informed local farmers over many years.

Lucille and Jean Marie Laprise of Dover Township, have been heavily involved in agriculture for over 30 years, especially in the fresh and frozen vegetable transplant, growing and marketing business. They have also employed many local people. Their success has been shared generously with the local community.

The induction ceremony on Nov. 14 begins with a “Meet and Greet” at 11:30 a.m.

Tickets for the luncheon and induction can be obtained by calling Kathy Vanek at 519-683-2929.

Pin It

Comments are closed.

« »

Did you know?

Chatham-Kent Is The NUMBER ONE Producer Of Tomatoes In All Of Canada.

Scroll to top